Visiting the Japfest Zandvoort

This year was my third time visiting the Japfest in Zandvoort and even though it was kind of familiar, the Japfest still has to be one of the best car meets of the year.

IMG_3672

Our day began at 5 AM when my friend Jan picked me up with his Toyota MR2 SW20 to take on the 200km drive to Zandvoort. On the way we met up with some friends to drive in convoy.

IMG_3718

At the Japfest we met the guys from Emperador Motorismo who are super nice and enthusiastic people. They got some of the cleanest builds of the show including this 580 hp Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R and a Rocket Bunny 200SX. At this point I have to mention the R34 GT-R which had an extremely beautiful interieur of which I didn’t make a photo, shame on me.

One of the more rare situations is when a Honda NSX turns up. But since this is one of the biggest JDM meetups in the Netherlands of course there was one. It was definitely one of the highlight cars besides the two! Nissan 240z which made an amazing sight when they drove up together.

When you are a little bit closer to me you might know that I am totally addicted to rotary cars. The RX-7 FD is definetely one of my all time favourites, but this one really got me. It might not be everyones favourite colour, but for me it’s just the perfect fit for the FD and will be my colour of choice if I am one day lucky enough to own one.

IMG_3997

Other cars worth mentioning were the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution III with a sticker that said OpaEvo (which means grandpa Evo), the RevRun Impreza WRX STI, a Mazdaspeed kitted RX-8 and a rather extreme Honda S2000.

Of course there were tons of beautiful and unique cars, but too many to get on camera. Overall the Japfest is an event that’s always worth visiting, either to be inspired by beautiful tuned cars or to watch time attack or drag racing on the circuit. I hope you enjoyed my coverage of the event and will finish this article with a picture of the beautiful NB of a friend of mine.

IMG_3801

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started